aspiringoptimist

Just another WordPress.com site

A beginning

1 Comment

 OK, I have  to admit I have close to zero idea why I’m doing this.  Something, let’s just call it “The Voice of God” for lack of a better label or description, motivated me to start a blog today. Yes, I’ve thought about it before…but I kept coming back to the same self-defeating thought that ultimately prevented further (read:ANY) progress up to this point, which  was, essentially “I’m just not that interesting.”

So there it is: maybe my soul/spirit/conscious mind, whatever we’re made up of, has decided to take up the challenge. To do it–for the sake of doing it. And maybe I might find that I say something that will resonate with other people. I started by trying to find a place to put my poetry and other writing on line, an e-safety deposit box  (or maybe bulletin board is a more apt analogy) but with access by potentially millions of people. And I probably still will. I have no rules here,  just a semi-uncharacteristic desire to express my opinions to the world in an uncontrolled setting.  Yikes.

I’m at less that 200 words and I’m already nervous.

Let’s see where it goes.

Author: aspiringoptimist

Talking about myself is probably my least favorite part about this kind of stuff because I'm a little all over the place. I call the blog "Aspiring Optimist" because I am driven to look on the proverbial bright side, but don't always succeed. Like anyone else, there are things that put a knot in my chest, that wake me up at night like an internal chorus of crickets. But I also believe that if you keep living and trying and working and planning, things have a way of getting better. I love to write, mostly for myself to maintain some semblance of worldly sanity and to work out the kinks. Unless some other people I know who also write, I may occasionally indulge a bad idea or two or three in the privacy of pen and paper so that I can get it out of my head and move on. But I also manage to produce poetry and some short fiction of varying levels of quality. I gravitate toward the esoteric, unusual, nature-ish, ancient history and generally cosmic side of things. I like to know a little about everything, but could do much better about knowing a lot about a few things...I probably would be a lot wealthier if I did. I love God, my family, and the ideas of freedom, equality, and peace. And I guess I don't hate talking about myself nearly as much as I thought I did.

One thought on “A beginning

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a comment